Thoughts and numbers at my blog’s 3rd anniversary

Hibiscus — This is the first photo posted on this blog on May 22, 2014.

Today is the third anniversary of the first posting of my blog, “A Gator in Naples.” It has had nearly 30,000 page views; I have written 309 movie reviews as well as 27 other entertainment reviews; and enjoyed visits from readers from 106 countries since my first post on May 22, 2014. Outside of the core of movie reviews, I have 21 photo galleries (11 featuring the 1,113 photos of Disney World that I have posted through today).

I received the most page views in one day (498) when I blogged a link to some University of Florida Gators football photos on a fan board (gatorcountry.com) where I post comments. And, just to show the power of the internet today, my second highest total (390 on June 15, 2016) was because of searches for information about beaches, swimming and alligators at Walt Disney World in the wake of the tragedy when an alligator killed a toddler there on the evening of June 14, 2016. You’ll find a complete breakdown of the statistics of my blog later in this post.

The most interesting post has been a photo taken by Allison of a topiary of “Tick-Tock,” the crocodile in “Peter Pan” that used to be displayed at Walt Disney World. The topiary as well as many of the other images of the crocodile and other alligator images were removed after the tragedy of the toddler’s death. In seeking an image for a story about it, the New York Daily News used one of Allison’s photos — without permission, I might add in a note of irony. Click here to see the image and read about it with a link to the New York Daily News story (yes, it’s still there without credit to the photographer)…

I’m still able in this high-tech day and age to be amazed that people in countries as far away as Asia or as one as isolated as the island of Réunion in the Indian Ocean have viewed pages on my blog. By the way, Réunion is an “overseas region” and “department” of France. I had to Google it to find out its geographical and political basics.

“We enjoy Disney World. Here’s a view of the main fountain on your way to the World Showcase at Epcot.” Here’s the first Disney photo I posted to this blog. It was May 23, 2014.

Another lone page view came from Nepal (hello, Dali?). I even received one from Iceland, but none from Greenland. Oh, well, maybe sometime later this year. I’ve gotten page views from Georgia (both in the U.S. and eastern Europe) as well as the Isle of Man (I’ve always wanted to visit there).

Of course the vast majority of page views come from the United States (85 percent) and the next three are the United Kingdom, Canada and France, which just recently regained its usual fourth position after Germany briefly overtook it during the past several months.

Thank you to all my readers both domestic and international. I’ve never advertised this blog (even on my own Facebook page) and only had one link from my signature on postings on the gatorcountry.com fan board on which I am active. The fact that thousands have found it is satisfying and, although it has been something for myself to do and something I do for myself, I hope the blog has and continues to either answer a question or please readers somewhere on Earth.

Hibiscus — and my third photo posted to this blog.

As to the blog’s longevity, I never expected to continue for so long. My blog has become a part of my life’s daily routine. I tried a break along the way (it lasted for only a few days) and “A Gator in Naples” has truly been my personal joy.

I didn’t intend to offer so many postings on the blog or expect to receive as many page views, but the numbers increased rapidly. I started the blog to learn about the WordPress blogging platform, but It quickly became a daily routine for me and I soon established a pattern: each morning I would post a movie review; post a photo from our many travels to Disney World; and then have a photo of either something I experienced now or from our digital archive of travel photos. Here’s how the numbers turned out as of the minute of the posting of this entry:

  • 2,499 – number of posts through today’s updates
  • 29,440 – number of page views (as of the minute of posting of this story)
  • 2,785 – page views for most-viewed page (my home page, of course)
  • 119 – number of countries from which readers’ page views originated
  • 1,113 – number of Disney photos
  • 309 – number of movie reviews
  • 27 – number of other reviews
  • 498 – most daily page views (on Aug. 15, 2014)
  • 527 – number of page views of my most-read review (the TV mini-series “Noble House” – click here to give it one more), but one about TV’s “Big Bang Theory” is coming up fast with 400 – click here to read it.
  • 196 – number of page views of my most-read movie review (HBO’s “Barbarians at the Gate” – click here to read it)

The numbers (all taken from the minute of the posting of this blog entry) are fascinating and have been an ongoing surprise as I never expected to see these numbers or what they represent in terms of readers’ tastes or geographical influence.

Also, it’s interesting that the home page has gotten only 10-percent of the page views on the blog. I would think more, but I believe the number reflects that most readers find a specific blog entry as they search for a subject (just like for the Disney incident I already mentioned).

I didn’t start daily postings here until June 24, 2014. I was recovering from the first of three surgeries to repair a ruptured Achilles heel and had the time to devote to it.

So, there you have it on the third anniversary of my blog. I don’t know how much longer I’ll continue a daily posting to “A Gator in Naples.” Stay tuned …

© Chuck Curry and A Gator in Naples, 2017.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without
express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner
is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
full and clear credit is given to Chuck Curry and A Gator in Naples
with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

